FLORIDA Marriage ​License


To marry on Amelia Island, a marriage license issued by a Florida County Clerk of Courts must be obtained.


The process takes no longer than 30 minutes. When the application is filed, the license is issued immediately. A Florida marriage license is valid for 60 days from date of validity. The marriage license must be returned to the clerk's office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.  


Effective January 6, 2015, the Nassau County Clerk will offer civil wedding ceremonies for same-gender couples.  Marriage licenses may be obtained from two locations in Nassau County, open Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Nassau County Historic Courthouse (downtown Fernandina Beach)
416 Centre Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034

Nassau County Courthouse (located off-island near I-95)
76347 Veteran’s Way, Suite 456
Yulee, FL 32097

The following is required for single adults to obtain a marriage license:

  • Must be 18 years of age or older.
  • Must come to the Nassau County Clerk’s office together.
  • Must bring driver’s license and social security number (non-U.S. citizens may submit naturalization number, immigration number, or passport number.
  • If either party is widowed or divorced, they must know the month/day/year that the marriage ended.
  • If either party has divorced within the last 30 days, they need to bring a certified copy of the final divorce decree with them.


FLORIDA RESIDENTS
For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a full three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. (Note: The parties may take the course separately, they are not required to take it together, but both must take it in order to qualify for the discount and both must read a
16 page Family Law Handbook (copy provided by the Clerk's Office).

The waiting period does not apply to nonresidents of Florida. If one party is a resident of Florida and the other party is a nonresident the three-day waiting period is waived only if the Florida resident takes the state-sanctioned marriage preparation course, but no discount is given.

For additional information on marriage licenses, please contact the Nassau County Clerk of Courts office at 904-548-4600 from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, or visit their website at
WWW.NASSAUCLERK.COM


FLORIDA RESIDENTS
For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a full three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. (Note: The parties may take the course separately, they are not required to take it together, but both must take it in order to qualify for the discount and both must read a 16 page Family Law Handbook (copy provided by the Clerk's Office).

The waiting period does not apply to nonresidents of Florida. If one party is a resident of Florida and the other party is a nonresident the three-day waiting period is waived only if the Florida resident takes the state-sanctioned marriage preparation course, but no discount is given.


FEES EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2017
Marriage application and license (includes one certified copy of license)          $86.00
If pre-marital class certification filed (3-day waiting period waived)                    $61.00
Providing a certified copy                                                                                            $3.00




Marriage License by Mail

This service is offered by the Lake County Clerk of Court ONLY to Wedding Coordinators and Consultants.

For an additional fee of $50.00 couples 18 years of age or older, may obtain a marriage license through Lisa Presnell Productions without the need to travel to a Clerk's Office.  The marriage license is valid in all Florida Counties.

The couple must complete an INFORMATION SHEET and and the "REQUIRED PRE-MARITAL STATEMENT”  and return to Lisa Presnell Productions so that a license may be generated (NO SOONER THAN 60 DAYS PRIOR TO THE EVENT DATE) WITH PAYMENT to Attention: Lisa Presnell - 905 Vernon St., Fernandina Beach, FL 32034 along with a self addressed stamped envelope and the applicable fee of $136.00. This must be a check or money order made payable to Lisa Presnell as she is required to write a company check to process the license by mail. Personal checks from couples are not permitted.

Lisa then mails the check, information sheer and premarital statement. Once submitted, The Clerk's Office prepares then marriage license and returns it to Lisa Presnell Productions. Next, Lisa Presnell provides the marriage license application to the couple, which needs to be signed before a Notary Public. 

The couple returns the Notarized License to Lisa Presnell and Lisa Presnell mails the signed, notarized marriage license application to the Clerk of Court who issues a marriage license and returns it to Lisa Presnell for a ceremony to be performed within 60 days.

After the ceremony, Lisa Presnell signs and records the ceremony, mails back to the clerk of court who will then return it in the self addressed stamped envelope to you.